Breaking News,  Game,  Gaming,  News,  Next-Gen,  Reviews,  Xbox,  Xbox Series S,  Xbox Series X

Everything Announced During the Xbox and Bethesda Showcase (June 2022)

Reading Time: 5 minutes

After much anticipation we finally got our hands on the Xbox and Bethesda showcase tonight, with a focus on games coming out over the next 12 months. With many labelled ‘Coming to Xbox Game Pass Day One’ and the classic ‘World Premieres’, come take a look at our Rapid Recap to see what games were on offer!

Redfall | 2023 | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

The show started off with Redfall, an open world, co-op FPS from Arkane Austin, the developers behind Prey and Dishonored. Published by Bethesda Softworks, the vampire shooter looks like a tonne of fun with plenty of action and story rich. We don’t currently have an official release date, only that it’s coming out in 2023.

Hollow Knight: Silksong | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

I could almost hear the screaming across the globe; sorry guys, no release date yet!

High On Life | October 2022 | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

From the creator behind Rick and Morty, Justin Roiland, comes High On Life, a bizarre looking FPS with an alien cartel and talking weapons…

Riot Games Coming to Xbox Game Pass | Winter 2022

Riot Games’ most popular titles, including League of Legends and Valorant, are coming to Xbox Game Pass (though solely through PC and mobile)! This includes special unlocks, for example all agents being unlocked in Valorant and all champions unlocked in LoL.

A Plague Tale: Requiem | 2022 | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

The sequel to A Plague Tale: Innocence, from Asobo Studio and Focus Home Interactive, is set to release this year.

Forza Motorsport | Spring 2023 | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

Showing off the true power of the Xbox Series X, we got to see a gameplay demo which looked utterly stunning. It boasted its most photoreal title yet, with features including dynamic time of day, tire and fuel management, plus car damage detail like you’ve never seen before.

Microsoft Flight Sim 40th Anniversary | November 2022

The 40th anniversary expanded edition comes out towards the end of this year, with a Spirit of St Louis collaboration with the National Air and Space Museum. A Halo Infinite add on is also available today!

Overwatch 2 | Early Access October 4th 2022

Blizzard’s Overwatch 2 now has a release date, going free to play.

Ara: History Untold | Day One on PC Game Pass

The turn-based strategy is intriguing, but we are only shown a little snippet with no release date.

The Elder Scrolls Online – High Isle Chapter | June 21st 2022

Fallout 76 – Expeditions: The Pitt | September 2022

Forza Horizon 5: Hot Wheels | July 19th 2022

Ark 2 | 2023 | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

This is one I’m very excited for, though we haven’t been shown much, and I’m happy to see it coming to Game Pass next year!

Scorn | October 21st 2022 | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

Developed by Ebb Software, Scorn is a creepy looking first person survival game, coming out just in time for Halloween!

Flintlock: The Siege of Dawn | Early 2023 | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

In its first gameplay reveal, Flintlock: The Siege of Dawn is an open-world RPG developed by A44 Games and published by Kepler Interactive. Filled with magic and gunpowder (and an adorable fox-like companion), I am very keen to learn more about this one.

Minecraft Legends | 2023

The beloved franchise returns with Minecraft Legends, this time in action strategy form.

Lightyear Frontier | Early Access Spring 2023 | Day On on Xbox Game Pass

Building a farm inside a mech suit while uncovering the planet’s secrets, this open-world title looks like it will be a lot of fun with friends!

Gunfire Reborn | October 2022 | Xbox Game Pass

Gunfire Reborn is a cel-shaded roguelite available to play both solo and co-op, developed by Duoyi Games. Released on Steam in 2021, and on mobile in May 2022, this is the announcement of its console port.

The Last Case of Benedict Fox | Spring 2023 | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

A metroidvania by Plot Twist and Rogue Games, The Last Case of Benedict Fox is a dark twist on a detective’s journey to uncover the truth.

As Dusk Falls | July 19th 2022 | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

Featuring a unique motion graphic novel style, this interactive drama can be played with up to eight people.

Naraka: Bladepoint | June 23rd 2022 | Xbox Game Pass

The battle royale comes to consoles for the very first time.

Grounded | September 2022 | Xbox Game Pass

An announcement for the full release of Grounded!

Pentiment | November 2022 | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

Pentiment‘s art style is inspired by illuminated manuscripts, told from the perspective of a Journeyman Artist in the 16th century.

Ereban: Shadow Legacy | 2023 | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

A debut game from indie developer Baby Robot Games, Ereban: Shadow Legacy is a stealth platformer.

Diablo IV | 2023

Diablo fans rejoice as the developers show us some gameplay of what’s to come for the franchise, as well as showing off the final playable class, the Necromancer.

Sea of Thieves Season 7 | July 21st 2022 | Xbox Game Pass

Ravenlock | 2023 | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

From the creators of Echo Generation, Cococucumber, Ravenlock is fairytale-esque title with a gorgeous looking voxel aesthetic. This is one of my stand outs of the night!

Cocoon | 2023 | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

Cocoon is a cosmic adventure from the lead gameplay designer of Inside and Limbo, Jeppe Carlsen; the trippy world-leaping mechanics look very interesting!

Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty | Early 2023 | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty is rife with action, based in a fantasy version of the Later Han Dynasty, with Chinese martial arts.

*Phil Spencer Appears!*

Persona Series Coming to Xbox Game Pass | P5R October 21st 2022

Phil Spencer arrives to make a lot of people happy with the announcement of Persona 3, 4, and 5 coming to Xbox!

Hideo Kojima Working With Xbox on a Brand New Game

Phil introduces us to Hideo Kojima in a reveal that they are working together on a brand new title, which is something Kojima has always wanted to make. It’s all very mysterious, with no real information to share yet, but it’s going to be something ‘that no one has ever experienced or seen before.’ Kojima warns it could take some time, but colour me intrigued!

*Todd Howard Appears!*

Starfield Gameplay Reveal | 2023 | Day One on Xbox Game Pass

Finishing off strong with what many Bethesda fans have been waiting for, we get a first look at Starfield! We are shown locations such as the moon Kreet, and New Atlantis. A core gameplay element seems to be helping the last group of Space Explorers, Constellation, to find artefacts across the galaxy. We get a glimpse of character creation, claiming to be the most flexible yet, and the plethora of options when building your very own space ship.

Perhaps the most exciting and mindblowing thing about Starfield is the reveal that you can explore anywhere on every single planet across 100 systems. And how many planets do you ask? 1,000. Yes, that’s 1,000 individual planets to be discovered! Wow!

Conclusion

Phew, that’s a lot of trailers! All in all, we got a great mix of everything; glimpses at anticipated games such as Starfield and Diablo IV, world premieres like Minecraft Legends, surprises and exciting new titles. Oh, and of course, even more further evidence of the fantastic value of Xbox Game Pass! What did you think of the showcase? Let us know by tagging us on Twitter @rapidreviewsuk

OpenCritic Logo

You can find and read our reviews on OpenCritic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.